I think I don't want to teach anymore - ProTeacher Community

gogogirl

gogogirl

I think I don't want to teach anymore
Old 09-27-2009, 03:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I posted earlier in the week about not being able to turn off the criticism from parents and how it spills over into my life. I have spent the entire weekend thinking about what I want to do and I think that I have come to the conclusion that I don't want to be a teacher anymore. All I can think about is that I wish I could quit my job. I feel financially trapped in this place and obsess about the criticism. I really FEEL the attacks from parents and it upsets me so much and it eats at me. I have been a teacher for 7 years and had office jobs before I became a teacher and I never experienced this kind of vitriol in an office job that equals what we get from parents. One of my colleagues told me that other day that her husband wants her to quit because this job just isn't worth all the pain and frustration. I teach at a Catholic school and the parents have an attitude that " I pay tuition so I can say whatever I want to you." The administration doesn't want to alienate the parents because enrollment is falling and they need the tuition money in order to keep the school open so they never back us up. I am so worn out already as is everyone in my school. I have never been in such an unhappy workplace. Anyway, thanks for listening.

GiantSubs

Old 09-27-2009, 03:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I know what you mean about private school! I think you should start every parent conversation with a prayer - perhaps a subtle reminder that they have chosen a religious school for their child's education would help them temper their comments!