Extended Reading Response - ProTeacher Community

Kat1019

Extended Reading Response
Old 10-03-2009, 06:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

After looking over ISAT scores, we found out that not a single 5th grader in the district got a 5 on the reading extended response! So, I'm working on improving that in my classroom this year. Since what I was doing last year obviously wasn't working, I was wondering if anyone else had any insight, graphic organizers, sample responses, etc. to share.
Thank you!

Sam5

ISAT Extended Response
Old 10-04-2009, 03:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The highest score a student can get on the reading extended response on the ISAT test is 4. Hardly any students in Illinois ever earn a 4. I have been teaching fifth grade for 7 years and no student in our school has ever earned a 4 on the extended response. I am actually thrilled if any of my students even earn a 3. Most of my students earn 2s which is still considered passing. I have spent a great deal of time trying to figure out how to get the kids to score better.

I have to say I have given up working too hard on this anymore. I am not happy about this, but we have had experts come to the professional development workshops and tell us they have no answers about how to teach our students better. Two of our presenters told us last year that the extended response portion of the test has little affect on the student's reading score so we should spend more time on helping our students do well on the multiplie choice section of the test and not worry so much time on the extended response part.

I did that this past year, and overall my students scored well on the reading test, and most of them did the same on the extended response section even though I did not work on it as hard. I did have my top reading group do reading response notebooks (where they wrote letters to me each week). I think that did help them score a little better on the extended response. However, they still only earned 3s.