Help

ARCHIVE

Pregnant and student teaching!!!

>

lboburka

Pregnant and student teaching!!!
Old 10-21-2009, 11:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Well let me begin by saying I am an older college student who has been married for a little over a year. I just found out that I am pregnant and am freaking out about student teaching next semester. I am due in late June, and only teach until second week of May. I really don't want to tell anyone right now, because I can still miscarry.. but sooner or later I am going to have to tell them. Do you think I should wait until I start student teaching so the school/and my college cannot kick me out? I feel awful for my mentor teacher because she had so much faith in me and I feel like I will disappoint her with telling her I am pregnant. What is the best advice? Should I tell, who should I tell? Does this look awful. What would you do if you student teacher told you they were pregnant?

I wanted to throw up the other day when she was bragging about me in front of other colleagues the other day... she had no clue that I am preggo, and this perfect person she speaks of is going to tell her she is pregnant soon.

Thoughts..opinions? I don't want to hear that I am irresponsible either, no negative comments please. My DH and I did not plan for this and it was a major shock to us, but we are more than excited!

lboburka is offline   Reply With Quote

TcherGurl528

Old 10-21-2009, 11:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

#1: Congrats!!! Try to enjoy this incredibly happy time and don't stress so much. Life has a way of surprising us, and working out for the best, so relax and enjoy. That being said...

First of all, it's against the law for anyone to kick you out of school or student teaching because you're pregnant (discrimination).