Leave of Absence for depression - ProTeacher Community

lonely1

lonely1

Leave of Absence for depression
Old 10-24-2009, 09:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I don't want to get into too many details. But I have depression. My depression is really bad. Every day is very hard for me. I'm never happy, and all I think about is how I'm not married, don't have kids, I don't have any friends, and don't have many close family members, and I'll live my life all alone. I have tried to join groups, but never made any friends.

I've been thinking of taking a leave of absence from my job. I know I need some help. First I wonder if it is even possible to take a leave for depression especially since I am a FIRST YEAR TEACHER. And if I do take a leave I don't want coworkers knowing. They are the gossiping type, and I am a very private person and don't want others knowing what is going on. Is it possible for a teacher to take a leave of absence for depession?

rbayliss

Absolutely...
Old 10-24-2009, 09:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You should take some time off for depression. You wouldn't think twice about taking some time off if you had bronchitis, chicken pox or cancer. Depression is a disease just the same. I am sure you know this already.

I can't guess at what services your district's benefit package would offer you, but find out. I know that here I could take an extend paid (about 60% of wage, I believe) leave, my counselling would be paid for and my anonymity would be protected.

See what's available to you. Then take advantage of it. In most cases our districts see us as well trained and highly valuable resources. They have already hired you to teach the children of their district. They think enough of you to trust you with that task. They ought to protect the valuable resource they see you as.

kestchr3

Think
Old 10-24-2009, 10:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3