I HATE green, yellow, red card system...ideas? - ProTeacher Community

teacher1st!

I HATE green, yellow, red card system...ideas?
Old 12-18-2009, 06:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching 1st grade and to put it nicely my class is comprised of an increidbly challenging bunch...

The K-2 team at my school has always used green, yellow, and red cards in pocket charts as their classroom management system. Every child begins the day on gree, and moves their card if they make "bad choices" or break rules. (We also have a double red card and a white card added to the traditional 3 color system)

Truthfully I hate this system. In reality most of my kids should be on red or worse by the end of the day, but I don't want to over use it. Also, for the kids that regularly have to flip cards, I know they don't like it but they also don't seem affected by it. It certianly has not proven to be a behavior modifier for most.

I also use a positive behavior system where students earn +5's and once they earn a certian number of +5's there are varied rewards. All the kids love this. Once they earn a 5 they cannot lose it, it is theirs to keep and accumulate over time!

I am all about positive reinforcement but I do feel there needs to be a system for consequences to poor behaviors as well. I want something like the green, yellow, red system - but something different!! I want to have a new system running when we return from break. Any ideas & things that you can share are very appreciated

teacher1st! is offline   Reply With Quote

YILuv2Teach

Old 12-18-2009, 06:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I also don't like the card system IF it's only for poor choices. I think it works much better if there are positive colors for the students to earn as well.

If the kids aren't affected by flipping their cards, I would think about altering some of the consequences for getting a card changed for bad behavior.