4th gr personal narrative writing ideas..help

>

Sophie

Sophie

4th gr personal narrative writing ideas..help
Old 10-05-2006, 05:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Help!
I am a new fourth grade teacher in North Carolina. We have a writing test in March. Our district is using Lucy Calkins and Fountas and Pinnell. I cannot read 10-15 pages of her books each night for my lesson plans.
Who has ideas for mini-lessons or books that I can use to teach my children how to write personal narr. and imaginative writings?
The above books are very confusing and are going nowhere for my class.
Thanks for any help.

4th teacher

4th teacher

Old 10-06-2006, 08:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Sophie, Try the book, "The Most Wonderful Writing Lessons Ever." This is by Barbara Mariconda (scholastic)
Also, type in what you are looking for on the internet. For Example: I typed in "Writing with a voice" There were many web sites for this that will help you. As a matter of fact, I found this site through searching. Ask your other 4th grade partners and lower grades to see what resources they are using. Sentence structure is very important and that mean conventions (punctuation, capitilization, subject/verb) There are web sites and resources that can help you. Almost forgot, go to dpi web site and they have lessons for 4th grade writing. I hope this helps

mrshall

Writing
Old 10-08-2006, 05:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Hi I have used this following link to help me organize myself for teaching the traits. I have shared it with many colleagues and it has be quite helpful.
I am reading the Tomie DePaola series 26 Fairmount Ave and the others. It is a narrative writing at its best.
Each chapter is about a clear moment in his life . The link below will tell you about a clear moment too.
I have used the analogy
Write about you summer vacation

Think about the summer vacation as a pizza pie

Write about all the things you did in the summer. One piece of pizza for each memory.