Lattice Multiplication - ProTeacher Community

opal4

Lattice Multiplication
Old 01-07-2010, 06:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi All,
I am new to fourth grade, (which is enough of a challenge coming from second) with a tough class to boot. Many of the children have low skills and are having a tough time learning to multiply 2-digit numbers. I introduced lattice multiplication-just as an extra fun activity-and many of them are really taking to it.
My question is this:
Is there any reason I should make them do it the original/old fashioned way? I will continue to review the old way, and work to have them understand it, but are there any glaring drawbacks to letting them use lattice? It is getting to the point where we really need to move on, but I don't want to cause problems down the line when we get to division, etc.
Thank you in advance for your help!

opal4 is offline   Reply With Quote

BigwigRabbit

Old Way
Old 01-07-2010, 07:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It's great that they are taking to the lattice method. The old way will probably be taught in future years when they are expected to multiply with larger numbers. The knowledge that you are imparting is likely to transfer, though. I'd go on. You've got a boatload of other stuff to teach and you've got to do it whatever way works best for you and your students.
BigwigRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Kare3A

Lattice
Old 01-07-2010, 07:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

We teach partial products and lattice multiplication in 4th grade. They are taught the traditional way in 5th grade. My students are doing a great job with lattice, and they love it!
Kare3A is offline   Reply With Quote

Jalon

lattice
Old 01-07-2010, 08:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4