Help! They won't stop talking! - ProTeacher Community

Rockin1stgrad

Help! They won't stop talking!
Old 01-13-2010, 06:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching first grade for a few years now. I have learned a few tricks to use to help with excessive talking etc. However THIS class is EXTREMELY talkative! I have about 5 "leaders" that talk non stop off task and then they "rope" in the others.

Do you have any suggestions?

This is what I currently do use:
I use Whole Brain teaching: review rules daily, students remind others (sometimes) of the rules when they are breaking them, I used the score board technique and tried it for about 2 months but after week 3 it started to lose it's effectiveness on the students. (It has worked the past 2 years with my other classes)

I do have a reward and consequence system in place. Behavior color wheel(It starts on green- can move up 1 level and move down 3) and they are paid according to their color at the end of the day. End of the month they use their money to buy from the class store.

I have tried having long discussions with these students. I made them write long narratives about how they are effecting other students learning time and their own.

I have separated them from the table groups and then made them earn their way back. (Which they would and then about 2 weeks later it would get WAY out of hand again.)

It goes on. I just need some help now!

I think that I will try mystery sticks again. I have used them with other classes and they worked well. (I do believe that I will have 1 student who depending on her mood will ruin it for other students.)

What behavior systems or tricks have you used with a class like mine? They are good kids, they just LOVE to talk! The kindergarten teachers warned us about how talkative this class was coming up.

Last edited by Rockin1stgrad; 01-13-2010 at 07:48 PM..
Rockin1stgrad is offline   Reply With Quote

Ladybug03

Rockin1stgrad...
Old 01-13-2010, 07:15 PM