4th Grade written report - CA missions - ProTeacher Community

Balletrocks

4th Grade written report - CA missions
Old 01-19-2010, 10:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a first year teacher and need help on the California Missions report from some experienced teachers. Do you give guidelines as to how long (pages, paragraphs, sentences per topic) the written reports are to be? I have found several outlines of questions to be answered. How much of the writing do you do in class and how much is to be done at home? How many class sessions do you spend on the entire process? With so much information on the internet, do you require other written sources? I saw a website aimed at parents ... they pay $17.50 and get all the information their child needs in ebook form to write the paper and do a model. Do you even monitor this type thing? Do you have a grading rubic for the written report? (Yes, I do feel overwhelmed). Thank you for any help.

Balletrocks is offline   Reply With Quote

starwars

Old 01-20-2010, 08:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi, I'm in CA so it maybe a little different but here goes. I have been teaching for 13 yrs and have found when students bring in books, or you give them a reference, a lot of it they just do not understand the resource so they just copy the whole thing, so I have been doing it this way for the past 2 years and love it. In CA we have to teach the kids how to write summary essays, so I teach that in the beginning of school on nonfiction short, one page articles found in non-ficition teacher resource books. So at mission time, I have written a two page article about one of the missions (we do San Juan Cap.) that we read out loud and discuss. Then the kids write a summary essay, map it, and draw a pic of something inside the mission. This way all kids get the same chance, no parents doing it for them, and I can grade it like a district writing prompt.