letter writing - ProTeacher Community

aigoe

aigoe

letter writing
Old 11-19-2005, 04:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

As a first grade teacher, I am looking for ideas to teach my students how to write a letter. Any creative ideas would be appreciated.

SC

Letters
Old 11-19-2005, 07:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I just did letter writing with my students. I have trouble making this fun because it's requires a lot of instruction from me; they get bored listening. I let them choose a person to write their letter to. I had also thought about letting them choose a character from the book we're reading and have them write a letter to the character.

This summer at a conference, the presenter told us about a book that has addresses for celebrities. They had their students choose a celebrity to write to, and many of them responded with autographs and things like that. I just didn't have access to the book becaus I can't remember what it's called
SC is offline   Reply With Quote

abcdefg

Pen Pals
Old 11-19-2005, 09:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Another first grade teacher and I teamed up our students to be pen pals. Our students write a letter to their pen pal in the other class once a week. We might make postcards, letters, or greeting cards. The students love this and they are so motivated to write.
abcdefg is offline   Reply With Quote

Gloria

What I do
Old 11-19-2005, 11:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

This takes a lot of work on your part but kids really get into this. I have each of my 57 students write me a letter and tell me about them and they can ask me questions. Then I handwrite each one of them a letter back and ask them questions. They then respond to me.

It takes several hours but the questions that they ask are so funny.

eg: If you were a student now, who would be your favorite teacher?

When you were little and I know it might be hard to remember since it was so long ago, what was your favorite food?