good lesson plan for autistic prek:Pumpkins? - ProTeacher Community

lnk

lnk

good lesson plan for autistic prek:Pumpkins?
Old 10-17-2006, 04:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a grad student completing my Special Ed. practicum in a self contained prek classroom - with 5 out of 7 children on the autistic spectrum. The class is taught using ABa methods individually. Part of my practicum is giving a lesson observed by a professor. I am getting mixed messages from the teachers in the room about giving a group lesson. The main teacher feels it is not developmentally appropriate to give a group lesson, while the very experienced assistants feel it is very important to have circle time - to prepare them for kindergarten and encourage social interaction. I would like to give a small circle lesson and then give them a simple project. I do understand that some of the nonverbal children will not benefit the same as the higher functioning children, but I don't feel that i'll have good attention if I only give the lesson to part of the class. Any ideas?

SarahSLP

Old 10-17-2006, 04:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think it's deinitely possible to do a group activity where children of differing abilities can all benefit. In fact, that's an important skill to learn if you're going into sped! For example, some kids can answer questions, sing songs, listen to books, etc; while others can point at pictures on a picture board, make hand movements to a song, hold pumpkin manipulatives, etc.

What I'm more concerned about is how your professor, head teacher, assistants, etc all dissagree about what is developmentally appropriate for group activities. You don't want to get stuck in the middle! Can you sit down w/ your professor and talk about what the research says and how it applies to the kids in this class? Before your formal observation, could you talk to the lead teacher about trying out a group activity to see how it goes?
SarahSLP is offline   Reply With Quote
lnk

lnk