Jealous Stepmom - ProTeacher Community

signing out

signing out

Jealous Stepmom
Old 05-21-2010, 09:02 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am so tired of how insecure and jealous my stepmom is. I've known my stepmom since I was 10 years old, and everything has been a competition to her. I don't see why it has to be that way. I am not a competitive person at all. But she has to be a "better mother" than my mom. She has to brag about how she cooks better than my mom, yet she's never even had any of my mom's cooking. But the main source of conflict is that my stepmom has a daughter my age(34) and Stepmom has always been jealous of my successes in life because of her daughter's lack of them. Stepsis never was good at school. But she's done alright for herself. She eventually went to a trade school and got a decent paying job. Just to name a few things Stepmom has gotten jealous of -that I made honor roll in high school, that I was saludatorian of my High School, and that I graduated high school on time(her daughter failed her senior year), and that I went and graduated from college with Honors. I feel like I have tip toe around her cause she gets so jealous of my life cause her daughter hasn't had many of those things. Now in my adult years I have married and had 2 kids(ages 1 and 3) whereas my stepsister hasn't. And suprise surprise my Stepmom is jealous of that too cause her daughter is single. I hate feeling like I shouldn't be proud of my success and special events in my life just cause my stepsister hasn't had these things and that my Stepmom gets jealous of these things. Its more that I am afraid I'll upset my stepmom by being happy and talking about these things.