What do you expect of your ESL teacher? - ProTeacher Community

saclerk

What do you expect of your ESL teacher?
Old 05-26-2010, 04:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am switching from second grade to ESL next year and I wanted to know what you expect your ESL teacher to do and if they do push in what do they do in your room? Basically what does your current ESL teacher do?

saclerk is offline   Reply With Quote

daisyflower

Old 05-26-2010, 04:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That's funny; I was an ESL teacher who switched to second grade last year. I am hoping to find an ESL position this year. It's a lot of fun teaching language!
The model I prefer is pull-out. You just can't teach English Language Development properly in a push in. It seems like the push in programs aren't really for teaching ELD/ESL, they are more for support. There's also the matter of time. You can teach more students in pull-out than you can in the same amount of time with push in.
I know there will be others who see more value than I do in the push in, but we are all allowed to have different preferences.
daisyflower is offline   Reply With Quote

AmberApple

ESOL teacher
Old 05-26-2010, 04:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3