I want to quit teaching - ProTeacher Community

Serious

I want to quit teaching
Old 11-05-2006, 04:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I really can not take it anymore. I guess I am a statistic. I am in my fourth year teaching and something this year has just snapped. I used to love teaching. I loved the kids, the practice, everything. I feel like I just woke up. I work my tail off daily, just to stress about the next day. There is always something to do. And I do it for pocket change. It is so weird because I was just sitting and waiting in a doctors office (plenty of time to think about anything) when I realized that I work my tail off, am regarded with little respect and I get paid pocket change. I feel under appreciated, noticed, etc. I feel like I have a blue collar job. I paid the same amount of money for my college education as a girlfriend of mine. The difference is that she is working less hours than I do and making 2.5X what I do. We both have a masters and went to school the exact same amount of time. The trade off...I have 4 vacations a year. BIG DEAL. I am so unhappy it is depressing me. It is effecting my family life. I hate to sound like a nagging Nelly, but where did all of this come from? Has anyone else thought about this? Am I crazy? But, why should I work so darn hard to make a difference, when I am not even noticed in the professional world? I almost feel like this would not be an issue if I was paid a lot more. When I say a lot more, I mean 50K easy before I would feel it is acceptable. I have no idea where all of this came from, but I am certain this is my final year teaching. I have to go back to school and start again. So....here I am a statistic. I will have left teaching prior to completing my fifth year. So just out of curiosity, where does the other half go? Where do all these teachers go before completing their fifth year? I am planning on going back to school to get another MA in another field when this year is completed. Thanks for listenin