Why am I not getting interviews? - ProTeacher Community

itz2bad

Why am I not getting interviews?
Old 06-09-2010, 12:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have two years of experience at two different schools because both schools had to RIF me. This is my third summer spent job hunting. I had a fairly good turn around my first year applying for jobs right out of college. Last summer was brutal, and this year isn't looking much better. I can narrow it down to three possible problems:

1. The economy. In which case, I can't really do too much about it.

2. Follow ups. I'll admit, I don't follow up with school districts after I send out applications. I never know exactly what to say, so any advice on this would be helpful!

3. My cover letter. I wonder if my cover letter is too long or not highlighting the right criteria. I see that some other people have posted their cover letters for review, and if anyone would be willing to look at mine and give me feedback, I'd sure appreciate it! Here it is:

P.O. Box __
City, State 00000

June 9, 2010

Mr. _____ ______
________ Public Schools
P.O. Box ____
City, State 00000

Dear Mr. _______:

I am applying for the fourth grade teaching positions you advertised on the __________ website. Having successfully taught fourth grade, I find the grade level of this position to be of particular interest to me. Furthermore, having taught at small schools the past two years, I am drawn to the small class sizes of your school, as well as the size and location of ________ itself.