Does classroom management get easier with time? - ProTeacher Community

leslie100

Does classroom management get easier with time?
Old 06-14-2010, 02:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

I am a first year teacher I have really struggled with classroom management this year. It is very hard to get my kids to be quiet and they often whisper while I'm trying to teach. I do stop and address the whispering/often giving a consequence. However, I don't think I've been as consistent as I need to be this year. The kids saw me as a bit of a pushover. I am teaching the same grade next year (5th) and am worried about having the same struggles.

Any suggestions? Is this common? Can a teacher improve in classroom management?

thank you

leslie100 is offline   Reply With Quote

ecsmom

Old 06-14-2010, 02:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I believe that it does get easier with experience. i am sure that you have heard it before but "Be firm, fair and consistant" really is key to good classroom management.

Having the students help determine the classroom rules and consequences also gives them ownership. At this age being embarrassed is a big deal so I would tackle major issues one on one rahter than in front of the class. By this I mean, writing the student a note or talking to him or her at quietly at your desk. I haven't taught 5th but I have taught 4th and 6th-8th. Good luck next year!
ecsmom is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 06-14-2010, 03:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

It can take awhile to find your classroom management style. Yes, it can be something that you improve, but it can take a lot of work.