90 minute reading block - ProTeacher Community

mcdoyle03

90 minute reading block
Old 07-06-2010, 09:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new teacher who will be teaching 1st grade = ) I know our school uses the Harcourt Trophies reading series that we test on each Friday, but our principal wants us to get away from reading the reading book everyday. I would like to have a Mon-Fri schedule that I could use. Does anyone have any ideas? If so they would be greatly appreciated = )

mcdoyle03 is offline   Reply With Quote

jessicamae3

Old 07-06-2010, 10:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I also use Harcourt and must give tests at end of week, but have jumped in feet first to the Debbie Miller way of teaching reading. I am thrilled with this. It flows. It is developmentally appropriate. The children love reading. Every child improved their reading by getting their hands on hundreds of books!
My schedule:
15 min upon arrival: Pick books for the day, greet one another, attendance
845-900 Basal Reader(Harcourt)
9:00-915 Mini lesson and model with read aloud
(set purpose for reading using mini lesson taught)
9:15-9:50: Reading(buddy read, read alone, listen to reading)
9:50-10:00 Sharing
10:00-10:45
Small Groups:
1. Guided Reading with me
2. Seat work-reading log entry, word work, and Accelerated Reading tests
3. Read Aloud to parent helpers, one another or AR tests

Goodwill has been a treasure trove of joy for my classroom library. I have amassed hundreds and hundreds of books in 6 months time through this store. 39 cents a piece. Plus garage sales. If you have not gotten Debbie Miller's book yet, grab it up. You will be shocked how quickly 90 minutes of just reading goes by!
jessicamae3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Jardinera

Old 07-06-2010, 05:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3