guided reading groups 4th grade - ProTeacher Community

littlewoman

guided reading groups 4th grade
Old 07-11-2010, 01:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a 4th grade teacher and need some advice on how to teach reading. I have a 90 minute block and 20 kids. How much time should I spend on the whole group with the basal and how much time is spent with small groups? Please give me ideas on how you schedule your reading. Our school uses Houghton Mifflin with the first story being Akiak. I have workstations in my classroom but am a little confused on how to make it all flow.

littlewoman is offline   Reply With Quote

missvicki77

I'll be interested to see what others say...
Old 07-11-2010, 01:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm moving to 4th grade this year (after having been in 3rd for 2 years). My district also uses HM (so our first story is Akiak).

Any help anyone could give would be GREATLY appreciated. Don't really want to reinvent the wheel.....

Thanks!
missvicki77 is offline   Reply With Quote

rachelmpd

Me three
Old 07-11-2010, 02:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I haven't looked to see what the first story is in the Houghton Mifflin. I have been warned that this group is very low, so guided reading is a must. In primary grades we use the small books for guided reading, do you also use the small books in the upper grades?
rachelmpd is offline   Reply With Quote

crockpotqueen

in 5th
Old 07-11-2010, 02:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

We have the little books (leveled readers) and I use em'. The trouble is that they don't have levels that are low enough. They are 1 level down at most. I have the upper level kids read in pairs or trios and do
independent while I work more closely w/ everyone else. I create vocab and comprehension activities to go w/ the stories.
crockpotqueen is offline   Reply With Quote

tiger4th

Trade Books
Old 07-11-2010, 04:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5