Writing prompts in 6th grade - ProTeacher Community

musiclvr6446

Writing prompts in 6th grade
Old 07-17-2010, 07:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher, and I am teaching 6th grade. I am very excited planning for the year, but I am struggling to create motivating writing prompts for 6th graders. Please share any examples or prompts that went over well with the students and inspired them to write! Thanks!

musiclvr6446 is offline   Reply With Quote

jcornett

Descriptive prompts
Old 07-18-2010, 06:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

One year during Halloween time I worked on a descriptive writing with a fellow teacher. The job of the students was to draw a picture of a monster. I explained that the monster could be friendly or mean, it could be big or small. They had to create a much detail as they could for the monster. After they drew their monster they had to write a descriptive paper describing the monster in detail. I explained that their writing would go to a student in another class. The other student would have to draw the monster that was described as they read it from the paper. I would ask the students do you think that you would draw your monster exactly from what you wrote down on your paper. I explained that the students would not show their drawing of their monsters until they end.

On the day of our compare and share, my fellow teacher and I exchanged the writing of the students. My students had to illustrate the other students writings. We then arranged at a designated time to go and compare the drawings. We would hold us the written paper and ask the student who received the paper to show us their drawing. Then we would ask the author to show us their original drawing. It was great to see how some were different and some were almost identical. We gave away prizes for the most identical.