Help

Intermediate Grades (3-5)

Help! Why aren't my students growing??

>

107krm

Help! Why aren't my students growing??
Old 07-28-2010, 12:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching for 8 years. For some reason my students' reading scores (NWEA computerized testing), are way low. They have been low for the past few school years. I have to be doing something wrong. Why aren't my kids showing growth? I am looking for ideas of how to teach reading better...better meet the needs of all of my students. So, what are your ideas? What are the most effective strategies you have used? Thanks!

FYI: I recently was trained in CAFE and have dabbled a little in Daily 5. 2008-2009 I used literature circles based on genres. 2009-2010 I went back to using our basal reader (Open Court) and sprinkled in a few lit. circles.

107krm is offline   Reply With Quote

sky22

Ideas
Old 07-28-2010, 02:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If they aren't improving in reading, they aren't reading enough. Incorporate a home reading program with a log and incentives. Put in a silent reading time of 30 -40 minutes within your day with books of their choice, but at an appropriate level. Have a bookshare time so that they can talk about their books.

Have a read aloud time that is a shared reading time in which you also discuss the book, the vocab, the author's use of language, etc, and get them excited about books.

Anything you can do to get them reading more than just in reading class.
sky22 is offline   Reply With Quote

maryw

jist finished reading Igniting a Passion
Old 07-28-2010, 03:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

for REading by Stephen Layne and Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller. I enjoyed them- both authors believe the best thing to improve student reading is to make sure students are reading lots. Stenhouse actually has the entire book (Igniting a Passion) online right now so I read it on line in a day or two- easy read.