Geography Bee Preparations??? - ProTeacher Community

TRISH

Geography Bee Preparations???
Old 08-14-2010, 10:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What do you do to help your students be prepared for a geography bee? I am new to fourth grade, and have no idea!!! Thanks!

TRISH is offline   Reply With Quote

Alicia G

Old 08-14-2010, 10:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm assuming you are talking about the National Geographic geography bee, right? The one on TV in May?

My dd entered this two years and did well, but she is too old now. We prepped her at home but not enough. It was tough because she went up against two state champs from the previous year who had been to Nationals! One was from our school and another moved into our school from another state, so she was basically doomed! So was one of the state champs!

There are a few official prep books out there with questions. Look at Amazon. They are loaded with hints, strategies, and practice questions.

And Nat. Geo had a bee quiz website with questions from the past bees.

A lot of prep we did at home included reading the newspaper and finding where different countries are (and where they were -- some like Siam no longer exist). So, if there is an earthquake somewhere, we find it. If there is a war somewhere, we know where it is.

Know general geography terms for landforms (butte vs mesa vs plateau as well as weird things like oxbow lakes and archepelago) and where to find deserts (oops I nearly put "where to find desserts" which is equally important to me but not on the bee) and rivers and plains in each continent. Know the biome names (tiaga, tundra, wetland, desert, grassland).

It's good to know the biggest, longest, deepest, tallest of things (desert, river, sea, ocean, mountain, mountain range, grassland, rift, peninsula, island, island group). Don't just what these tallest and deepest things are but also what country, what ocean, etc. They will often ask questions where knowing more than a name is a good thing!