Sixth Grade

The First Weeks of 6th Grade - Help!

>

MsDasta

MsDasta

The First Weeks of 6th Grade - Help!
Old 08-15-2010, 06:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a new teacher who just got hired to teach 6th grade. I have experience with 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grades, but all I know about 6th graders is that I'm scared to death of them! They seem so tall and loud compared to my little 4th graders!

I've been exploring all the great posts on this site, and have gathered some wonderful tips. What I'm most worried about at this point is classroom management and discipline. I'm worried that older kids won't buy into the same management systems as the younger kids. Do cube jars, tickets, or classroom 'currencies' still work with kids in 6th grade? Outside of these positive reinforcement systems, what types of things help foster that intrinsic motivation with 6th graders? How can you best avoid those power struggles and defiant behaviors?

Also, what does the first week look like? What are some activities and routines that work well with 6th graders?

Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

sassymollasi

You will love it
Old 08-15-2010, 07:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I do!
First Week: Just like with your fourth graders, set procedures and do a little "get to know you" stuff... BUT I like to jump right into content. If you want specific activities I would be happy to email them to you.

Motivation: Yes, I use a marble jar, they earn marble when the whole class is on task. I manipulate it so that they earn something apx. one time pe quarter. One time they wanted free gym time, but mostly a video was popular. We brainstorm it.

Two pieces of advice:
1) Have a sense of humor with them. I cannot tell you how important that is. Discipline can be handled this way too... I might say "Talk to the hand" or end a problem solving session with "Group Hug!!"

2) Do not get into power struggles.