Word work in 4th grade - ProTeacher Community

hsday

Word work in 4th grade
Old 08-28-2010, 08:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

THere are a lot of great posts on D5 for younger grades, but very few for 4th grade and up. This is my first year teaching 4th grade and I have never done D5 before. I have launched the read to self, read to others, and listen to reading so now I'm ready to move on. The problem is that I don't know what kind of word work to do with fourth graders.

Ideas?
Suggestions?
Please?

hsday is offline   Reply With Quote

ELArocks

4th grade word work
Old 08-29-2010, 01:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I teach 4th grade, too. This will be my 2nd year of doing D5. I tend to use this time to allow my kids to practice their spelling words. I have different bins in my room that my kids can choose from...stencils and markers, scrabble tiles, dried beans, white boards/markers. They use all of these materials to practice their words. I also use this time to have them practice vocabulary words that either we as a class are working on or words that they have in their word collector (if you are doing CAFE). I have them keep their word collectors in their reading notebooks to collect unfamiliar and interesting words that they come across during read to self. I typically have them use the Frayer Model graphic organizer to practice these words. Another thing you could have them do during this time is work on word sorts. If you can get your hands on a copy of the Words Their Way book, there are a lot of great sorts in the back that are appropriate for this grade. Hope that helps!
ELArocks is offline   Reply With Quote

mbs79

Much of the Same
Old 08-29-2010, 01:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3