When will there be sub jobs - ProTeacher Community

TXlady

When will there be sub jobs
Old 08-30-2010, 07:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year to sub. My district uses Aesop sub system. This is the second week of school. I am so ready to start working and sub. I have nothing to do all day and am ready to take jobs. But when I search online there's nothing. And I work in an extremely large school district. When do you think sub jobs will be available? I am hoping in at least a week or so. I'd like to get to the point where I am subbing everyday.

TXlady is offline   Reply With Quote

broomrider

It depends
Old 08-30-2010, 09:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

on your district and you. The first couple of weeks are usually very slow as teachers want to get routines established with their students and teachers and their families are fairly healthy.

Some additional variables: you are new to subbing and probably unknown--go to some nearby schools and introduce yourself, maybe take a business card with your name, number, some experiences noted. Make nice with secretaries and principals, if you can get to them.

Do a great job when you do sub and leave your card or name and number.

Some districts are using recently laid off teachers as subs and calling them first, mine has overaged teachers as permanent subs--they get assigned first because they are on salary.

Most schools have subs they contact first, folks who have proven they are dependable; over time you can join that group. Many are retired teachers who are known to others at the school already.

Hang in there, flu season will hit, Dr. appointments will come up, trainings will be scheduled. Keep up with AESOP, check in often--early morning and late evenings, take half day jobs that appear at 8:30 a.m.
You will get your foot in the door.
broomrider is offline   Reply With Quote

JenTheHammer

Aesop in the mix
Old 08-31-2010, 05:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3