Marble Jar: when to reward class with marbles? - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

m.frances

Marble Jar: when to reward class with marbles?
Old 09-09-2010, 04:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,

I am a brand new teacher and I decided I would have a marble jar because I love using positive reinforcement. The problem is, I have so many other things going through my head, I keep forgetting to reward the class. Today we earned 3 marbles because the music teacher said they were "great" at specials (it only took me 'til the afternoon to remember...the compliment was given in the morning time!) I tried using it as incentive for being quiet during math (I wrote the word RECESS on the board and told them I would erase a letter every time it got too loud. If I didn't have to erase any letter they would earn 3 marbles, but I had to erase two letters).

Any other suggestions for when to reward them that I can wok into my daily schedule? I am regretting doing it because I'm finding it too hard to manage!

m.frances is offline   Reply With Quote

mrs.bear

Old 09-09-2010, 04:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I use it for whenever someone is doing the WRONG thing, reinforce the correct behavior by giving a marble to a child who is doing the RIGHT thing. Also, whenever the classroom is getting loud, I look for the quietest table and let them each put a marble in the jar. It really helps those kids who are not showing the right behavior realize what it is that they need to be doing without you harping on them.
mrs.bear is offline   Reply With Quote

Ms. J

Marble Jar Rewards...
Old 09-09-2010, 08:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I try to use it as positive reinforcement any time the entire class is doing something well.

I (or a student) add marbles to our jar for the following reasons:
*fantastic line to lunch/recess
*outstanding cooperative group work
*transition to community circle or a specific group activity in a given amount of time
*100% on task behavior