Chatty Students!!! - ProTeacher Community

ilvsunflower5

Chatty Students!!!
Old 09-15-2010, 05:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been teaching LA for 8 years and Math Lab for two years. Being that it is the second week of school, I am ready to pull my hair out! Some of my classes are disrespectful and just chatty!!! I've been calling parents, having "talks" with the kids, put names on the board, and give out tickets to students who do what they are supposed to. I always make sure I say aloud whatever the student has done to deserve the ticket (Ex: so and so is following directions...). Any ideas as to how I can tackle this? A lot of my issues occur in the afternoon after lunch time. I really desperate!!! Thanks!

ilvsunflower5 is offline   Reply With Quote

MiddlingAZ

Chatty
Old 09-15-2010, 07:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I posted this awhile back on the Seventh Heaven group and you can take a look at it:

http://www.proteacher.net/discussion...scussionid=478

This year my groups are so much better. I think that in general they are simply more mindful, respectful, and responsive to authority, but what has really worked for me is time out in a nearby classroom. We are not allowed to put students in the hallway unsupervised and are encouraged by our new vice princ to arrange with a colleague for reciprocal time out space. Each period I have prearranged where they can go; I teach 6 and 7 so I made an effort to find a 7th or 8th grade room so they weren't going to the same grade level.

I actually put this into place around week 3, before the vice principal made suggestions in a meeting, because I ordered a book I read about on PT: Setting Limits in the Classroom by Robert MacKenzie: