Help! Kindergarten out of control! - ProTeacher Community

Botanica

Help! Kindergarten out of control!
Old 09-18-2010, 05:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a second year teacher and had similar problems last year. Apparently, I start out too loving and caring at the first of the year. Very soon half the class is out of control. This is an inner city group with mostly extremely poor home lives. They are exposed to sex, violence, and drugs at home. Few of them have more than a 3 minute attention span. I have 2 extremely ADHD children and one who would be manageable if the others didn't set him off. I have at least one child urinating on the bathroom floor several times a day. The chaos gets worse as the day goes on until time to get ready to leave when a third of the class is running around, getting into fights, knocking over chairs, standing on chairs or desks, and throwing crayons across the room. The other 3 kindergartens in my school have more children than I do, and the classrooms remain quiet with children on task. I don't know how to turn things around. I'm nearly 60 and can't do the constant barrage of entertainment routine - I'm just too slow. If I didn't need this job so badly, I'd quit. I really wanted to help children like these to have a better future, and I love each child individually. It's the group dynamics that overwhelm me. The kids do enjoy all the songs I teach them. What can I do?

Botanica is offline   Reply With Quote

cvolcteacher

For me, the answer would be in having dozens
Old 09-18-2010, 05:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

of procedures. I would be intent on structuring the classroom and all the routines in it. When the classroom is very structured in the sense that you've taught them how to behave with very precise procedures for every aspect of the day, then the kids can handle being in school even if they are coming from homes that are less than perfect.