Graphic Organizers for Kindergarten??? - ProTeacher Community

jacque/Wa/K-1

Graphic Organizers for Kindergarten???
Old 09-26-2010, 08:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My new literacy adoption uses graphic organizers from the first week. I have never used them before and I'm resistant to use them now--I envision that it will take the joy out of reading stories.

If you use these, please help me to see the value of them in K...tell me some of your most helpful hints. My adoption says things like, in Day 3's lesson, to have students 'write' the supporting details for the main idea on their graphic organizer...HELLO, they can't write yet....

jacque/Wa/K-1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Teaching13

You have to try them!!!
Old 09-26-2010, 08:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

They work!! I absolutely love them. No students can not write, but they can draw and they love it!!

I found scholastic has some cute graphic organizers for setting. T-charts and venn diagrams are perfect and are so simple to use in September for rhyming words, classifying letters and numbers, comparing math manipulatives, characters in stories, and yet the possibilities are endless.

Just a daily/weekly plan for you to try:
Monday-model by reading a story and YOU model how to fill in the graphic organizer
Tuesday-introduce story of the week with the skill you modeled on Monday, students wil give you the answers to use to fill in the graphic organizer
Wednesday-add more to the graphic organizer if possible
Thursday- whole group try graphic organizer together while you fill it out with them, so they know how to
Friday-try on thier own

Sometimes I may have to teach for two weeks before I allow them to fill in a graphic organizer, but it all depends on the story/concept or skill.

If you give me your email I can email you such a great organizer that I use for characters in stories. and even my lesson plan!!