Help! I'm Teaching Middle School Music - ProTeacher Community

song4you

Help! I'm Teaching Middle School Music
Old 10-15-2010, 05:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching elementary (K-5) music for 20+ years and, due to a budget shortfall, was recently reassigned to middle school music. I will be teaching guitar/general music classes as an elective for 6th - 8th grade. These classes are part of a block schedule where I see each class 2 days each week for 90 minutes. (Wednesdays we see all eight periods for 35 minutes.)

I would love to hear from those of you who teach music to this age group. What type of classroom management techniques work well at the middle school level? What are some activities / units of study you have found that appeal to middle school kids? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

song4you is offline   Reply With Quote

singplaymove

MS general music ideas
Old 01-12-2011, 06:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

There are many things you may have done with elementary students that can work well and be very appealing for middle school students.

I am an Orff trained teacher, and found my body percussion pieces, rhythm canons, drumming and vocal canons all to be very accessible and rewarding for my grades 7 & 8 students. I also enjoyed having students do a "musical family tree" where they interviewed family members about their formal and informal music experiences, created collage posters and presented to the class. I loved teaching guitar to my junior high students. The Lion Sleeps Tonight, folk songs with simple chord progressions. We would begin with "air guitar" to get the position and hand placement. Playful, but organized.

Students at this age also did well with group projects. Consider having the students compose variations to Row Row or Twinkle, then make a listening map poster and perform their pieces. I also did chance music or found sound compositions with non-standard notation (symbols and pictures) posters.