Best Ways to Set Up Classroom Desks?? - ProTeacher Community

lizzylu

Best Ways to Set Up Classroom Desks??
Old 10-25-2010, 06:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm currently a student intern in a fourth grade classroom. At the beginning of the year my teacher had the desks in groups, however the children were extremely talkative so she changed the set up to rows and now the children do not communicate/colllaborate as much on work. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions on the best ways to arrange desks in the classroom?

lizzylu is offline   Reply With Quote

C Green

Depends a lot
Old 10-25-2010, 07:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I really like having kids in groups. It opens up room in the room, and creates immediate little work groups. The two main problems are that it does increase socializing, and it makes it harder to ensure that everyone has a clear line of sight of the board/teacher.

Rows are quieter. They're less interactive. They take up more space. I don't like them as well, but I have them at the moment because my current class simply doesn't stop talking.

Last year I had a sort of horseshoe facing inward--that was high school kids--but it wasn't my choice, it was what the woman who shared the room with me preferred. It worked nicely.

What age of children are we talking about here?
C Green is offline   Reply With Quote

Lady Di

Another Idea
Old 10-26-2010, 06:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I've seen classrooms where all the desks face forward, but they are in groups of 3 (so the sides of the desks are touching). That way they can all see and collaborate, but may be less prone to talking during whole group teaching (?).
Lady Di is offline   Reply With Quote

lizzylu

Old 10-26-2010, 12:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4