Negativity - long post! Sorry!!! - ProTeacher Community

flutetoot

Negativity - long post! Sorry!!!
Old 10-28-2010, 06:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I just started teaching 7th & 8th grade LA/Lit this Sept after searching for 4 years. It is only a part-time position (.4), but it seems like every week they are adding on more time. Initially, it started out as 11:45-3:15, then it moved to 11:30-3:30, now it is 11:00-3:30. I realize I am a new teacher so I kind of have to go with it...

The main problem is that the position I have was the current P's position last year - she worked as a P and the LA teacher. Now she is the P and SpEd Director (we have a very small school). I don't think I was her first choice for the position, but the Super. wanted me because I also teach music and their music teacher is leaving at the end of the year (the idea was I would teach LA/Lit and music next year). Now the super. has tendered his resignation due to factors with the BofE.
It seems that every time the P "meets" with me (which is usually in the hall, informally in my classroom for 5 min., etc.) she has constant negative feedback. I am the only LA/Lit teacher in the building, so I don't have anyone to discuss lessons with and bounce ideas off of. Yesterday, the P was mad because when she went into my classroom for an "informal" observation, my lesson did not coincide with what was on her paper (she makes me hand in lesson plans 2 weeks in advance) - I explained to her that the previous lesson took longer than I expected so we were a couple of days behind. She said that this was not an excuse and I should have changed my plans (again, this was an unannounced visit to my classroom - I have yet to ever have a "formal" eval.)
Also, she doesn't like the way I teach, and is constantly telling me that I should do things the way that she did. I try, but our styles are different.