How Do I teach Kindergarten to write?? - ProTeacher Community

Lilybug06

How Do I teach Kindergarten to write??
Old 01-14-2007, 08:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Ok! So I am teaching in an inner city school. The kids had several teachers before I took it over in January. I need to teach writing but I don't have a clue. We have been practicing writing the ABC's together. Some are struggling with that. I need to get the kids writing words and little sentences. How do I start that? What do I do? Oh and I am sure some of you are like She should know she is a teacher. I am a brand new teacher just graduated in Dec. I have no clue about Kindergarten. Thanks for you help.

Lilybug06 is offline   Reply With Quote

kali

some tips
Old 01-15-2007, 05:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi Lilybug-

Some tips to get you started:

Put print all over the room...so almost everything has a label. Teach them how to copy words off the wall.

Have a word detective center: the team has clipboards and they walk around the room and copy words they find.

Read several read alouds each day that model good writing.

Start with having them label drawings. Teach them when they draw a cat, to label it cat. Teach them how to find the word cat in the room; word rings, wall charts with themes, or off a book, or write down some letters because they know words need letters. Once they know some sounds...encourage invneted spelling..have them put down the sounds they hear and praise them for taking a risk!!

Make sure they know the difference between a word, letter, and a a sentence. Do lots of phonemic awareness and playing around with sounds.

Practice the sounds of the ABC's everyday. I use a big a ABC chart with pictures and we go through it like this.. A, apple, /A/, B, bear /B/

Have a wall with environmental print they recognize...have them bring in favorite cereal boxes, candy wrappers, etc.