where to start - ProTeacher Community

EmersonSquirl

where to start
Old 01-09-2011, 09:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

How do you start the process of building centers into your instruction? I have tried a few things with my class, but being a first year teacher, I don't have much experience to draw on in this department and my kids haven't retained much of their training. How do you train the kids? How many tasks do you start with? How long are students given at first? Thanks for any and all help with this!

EmersonSquirl is offline   Reply With Quote

edistonian

Old 01-09-2011, 05:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It is very much worth it to invest in the book, Literacy Work Stations: Making Centers Work by Debbie Diller. It is wonderful!!! She tells you how to do everything to make it work in your classroom. I would never go back to not using work stations.
edistonian is offline   Reply With Quote

inspire2teach

Getting started
Old 01-10-2011, 08:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

The above mentioned book is very helpful. My centers are used during guided reading. While I am meeting with a group the other students are working independently in stations. I have 2 students in a station at a time. I have about 10-12 stations. Some of them are: reading, listening, word building, pocket chart, sight word, buddy reading,phonics,poetry. My stations usually last around 20 mins each with the students going to about 4 different ones a day. I usually try to change out activities about every other week....not necessarily new but skills changed to match what we are doing in the room. When I first began I had a lot of handmade tasks.....but now I have several things from lakeshore that I have ordered.
inspire2teach is offline   Reply With Quote

chewiefairy

Old 01-11-2011, 03:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4