Is January a slow month for subbing? - ProTeacher Community

lamaestra

Is January a slow month for subbing?
Old 01-10-2011, 08:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year subbing and the school district where I sub will start tomorrow. I have not gotten any assingments for this month and I"m wondering if January is a slow month for subbing.

lamaestra is offline   Reply With Quote

TK56

January subbing
Old 01-10-2011, 09:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It can be, because everyone's had a good break. On the other hand, if the flu or a stomach bug starts going through the ranks, a lot of people can be out for a long time.
The thing about subbing is you have to be patient and flexible. But you've probably already learned that.
TK56 is offline   Reply With Quote

Lynette12

Old 01-11-2011, 03:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Last year it was slow for me, but this year, I have a job every day, except one day last week! It is great! A couple days I even had schools call me to work instead of trying to grab one on AESOP. Hopefully, it will pick up for you!
Lynette12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Library Linda

Yes, very slow
Old 01-11-2011, 05:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

January and February are notoriously slow--for parapros, anyway. I've worked 5 years as a substitute parapro and it's always been slow at this time of the year. Last year I took off January, rather than rushing to get ready every morning and then having no job after all.

Part of it is everyone's had their break; part of it is that I only sub once or twice a week, so no one knows me yet. Maybe they don't know you well enough, either, yet, if you've only been into subbing one year. Hopefully you find something!
Library Linda is offline   Reply With Quote

newsubLisa

It's been busy here
Old 01-11-2011, 07:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5