not using punctuation - ProTeacher Community

new2teach22

not using punctuation
Old 02-02-2011, 02:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a fourth grade teacher and I have many students who will write paragraphs, even a whole page, without using one period! It's so frustrating. I've gone through their writing with them and showed them where periods belong and today I was so frustrated I wouldn't even look at it. I sent the student back and had them go back and break their long sentences down. Does anyone have any suggestions for helping to correct this problem? We are writing a lot and practice doesn't seem to help some of these students! Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

new2teach22 is offline   Reply With Quote

anna

Old 02-02-2011, 02:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Give every student a red pencil and their assignment back at the same time,set the timer and everyone has to hold the red pencil and re-read the work for "missing stop signs."
anna is offline   Reply With Quote

talgirl

Feel your pain
Old 02-02-2011, 04:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have a few 6th graders who do this! I have no advice, just wanted to let you know I have the same problem.
talgirl is offline   Reply With Quote

alvin

Me too!
Old 02-02-2011, 04:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

My students (second graders) still don't even put capital letters where they belong let alone punctuation! I've tried reading it aloud to them and had them listen for the end of the sentence. When my voice goes down, there should be a period. They really don't like to reread their pieces at all. Even when I say you MUST reread, they really don't. I too am stymied!
alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Practicing

Practicing

Old 02-02-2011, 05:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

Only perfect practice makes perfect. Are you sure you aren't practicing writing without punctuation over and over and over and over?