Student unable to retain or recall information - ProTeacher Community

ecsmom

Student unable to retain or recall information
Old 02-09-2011, 03:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a boy in my class who is as sweet as can be. This is his second year with me at his mom's request. I have tried everything I can think of to help him retain letters, numbers, sounds and shapes.
I am not an expert in learning disabilities or special ed. However, the problem seems to be with recognizing, retaining and recalling the shapes of things. At this point he only recognizes C which is the first letter of his name. He can copy from the board and has nice penmanship but he has no idea what he has written. He can memorize sentences in our leveled readers after hearing someone else read but he cannot read the sentences on his own or remember what the words were 5 mins later. Our K students receive no sp ed assistance, other than speech, even after being retained. Both the SpEd supervisor and the Title 1 coordinator are aware of my concerns and are willing to test him early in the 1st grade. I have explained all of this to his mother. I have also sent home many of my own materials for her to use with him at home. His grandmother works at out school as an IA but not in our classroom so she is also aware and willing to help. I do have a Title IA for 45 mins a day. She works one on one and in small groups with all the students and also administers the DIBELS.
The student seems perfectly normal in every other way and except for his disinterest in paper/pencil work, I couldn't ask for a better behaved student. He has a little brother in PreK who has exactly the same issues. Any and all ideas and suggestions are welcome. Thanks!

ecsmom is offline   Reply With Quote

Brigid

Maybe this will help
Old 02-09-2011, 06:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2