Creative centers for 2nd grade!!!! - ProTeacher Community

Hannie

Creative centers for 2nd grade!!!!
Old 02-03-2007, 12:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am in my 4th week of student teaching and I want to implement learning centers in the afternoon. My only problem is that I only have about 15-20 minutes each day for them. My critic teacher does not allow time for centers. I need centers for reading, grammar, social studies, science, math, writing.
My students will only be going to one center a day so they will get to all 5 by Friday. My social studies and science rotate after every chapter. If you have any creative hands on ideas for my centers please help!!!!

Hannie is offline   Reply With Quote

Kare

centers
Old 02-03-2007, 07:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am a sped teacher for grades K-5. I have a reading center that includes:
- books on tape
- magnet alphabet letters for word work on reading words
- a written worksheet for write the room (where they write the words
they see around the room these are always being added too.
- they have browsing boxes which have copies of the books they are
reading either independently or from reading instruction time which
they practice reading
- we introduce 5 new words every week as words to know - I have 5
lunch bags with 8 film canisters in each. Inside each canister is a
picture or clue to one of these words. They write down their
answers to the clues on a piece of paper. This can be done
individually or with a partner. I change these about every two
weeks because it takes that long for every student to have a turn
with this activitiy. There are some old words with the new words.
- they can choose to do buddy reading
- they also have a reading response journal, which could be writing also,
they have a list of possible choices like the connections they may
have to this story, predictions, what questions they have, ect. and
they write about a book they have read independently or during
reading instruction