Help-Research Paper for 5th grade!! - ProTeacher Community

mottlau

Help-Research Paper for 5th grade!!
Old 04-05-2011, 11:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am supposed to come up with a research topic for my 5th graders to do a paper on that will be do in May. I am a first year teacher and have no idea what the topic should be. It has to be around 2-3 pages. They can use the internet, books, etc. Does anyone have any good ideas for topics for 5th graders?? Thanks!

Tulips

research too
Old 04-05-2011, 12:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I was just going to post the same thing. Our 5th graders are supposed to do a research paper. I'm wondering what others are doing?

parker

Some ideas
Old 04-05-2011, 12:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Look at your standards in science and social studies. What topics are covered? Choose something from your standards.

Here are a few common 5th grade "research" topics:

explorers
biomes/ecosystems
state reports
famous scientists
countries
presidents
endangered animals
famous inventors
native american tribes
battles of the american revolution
famous authors

Last edited by parker; 04-05-2011 at 01:03 PM.. Reason: added something

myoung

Old 04-05-2011, 04:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I always did research papers when I taught our Space unit. I found that by fifth grade, they'd had space several times already and so I just let them each pick a planet and I grouped their research into 3 chunks, which later became three body paragraphs. I also did animals a few years...we did ocean animals and did a paragraph about habitat, family life, etc...you get the picture. So...I guess my advice is to tie it in with whatever you're studying in Science if possible and kill two birds with one stone.

GiantSubs

I do Presidents
Old 04-06-2011, 04:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5