How did you do on Praxis 0049... - ProTeacher Community

Leftytoo2

How did you do on Praxis 0049...
Old 06-13-2011, 02:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Middle School English Language Arts? I felt like I did well on the multiple choice (I'm sure I got some wrong, but I felt pretty sure of most of my answers). However, there were 2 essays, one on analyzing a poem and the other about scoring a student's written work. I did the second essay first and felt really good about that one, but I didn't finish the other essay, on analyzing a poem! I did get a chance to mention story elements of imagery, alliteration, and tone, but I ran out of time right in the middle. Did anyone else have that happen? Or did you not do as well on the essays and still pass? That's the only thing I'm worried about.

Leftytoo2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Cassyree

Praxis
Old 06-13-2011, 04:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm an old teacher and didn't have to take the Praxis English/LA Praxis for original certification. I did take the middle school math Praxis in order to be highly qualified and keep that certification on my license (although I haven't taught math in years). I felt pretty good about the multiple choice but knew I didn't do well on the constructed response questions. One I barely even got to. My score was actually quite good. I wouldn't worry too much. I think you've probably done fine.
Cassyree is online now   Reply With Quote

Leftytoo2

Thanks
Old 06-14-2011, 08:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

for your reply, Cassyree. It is reassuring! :-)

teacherwriter

I did manage to finish both essays
Old 06-15-2011, 01:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4