detailed lesson plans - ProTeacher Community

Last Chance to Enter!

lilybeth

detailed lesson plans
Old 02-24-2007, 10:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I work as a part-time preschool teacher and go to college majoring in elementary education. I am now finally taking all education classes. Anyway, I haven't done lesson plans before since previous semesters I was taking classes in the core curriculm.
Well in one of my classes we are learning how to do detailed lesson plans. Our professor told us this is the layout that we will have to do lesson plans once we get into our methods and student teaching and we will have to do several of these detailed lesson plans once we are in our field-based schools. I don't know if its because I've never done lesson plans before, but to me this is just too detailed. I just can't imagine if I am teaching reading, science, social studies, and math doing this detailed lesson plan for every single subject. To me its too time consuming, and I think you should have lesson plans but just not this detailed. The layout of the lesson plans goes like this: And under every heading it says "to describe in detail".

Objective
Rationale
Prerequisite Skills
Assessment
Materials
Transitional Activity
Focus
Connections
Instruction
Closure
Modifications

lilybeth is offline   Reply With Quote

Bertie

Bertie

plans
Old 02-25-2007, 12:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That will for sure be how you'll be doing lesson plans in class and in student teaching. Doing them in that format will be a hoop you'll have to jump through to graduate, so may as well learn from it.