Polar Bear or Penguin bulletin board - ProTeacher Community

shannonNJ

Polar Bear or Penguin bulletin board
Old 01-02-2006, 04:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi - I am a new teacher and was wondering if anyone had any ideas for a bulletin board using polar bears or penguins? I teach 2nd grade. I was thinking about reading Little Polar Beer by Hans de Beer but could not think of any ideas. Or if anyone knows any penguin books that I could read to my class and then incorporate that with a bulletin board. Any help would be grateful!!!!

shannonNJ is offline   Reply With Quote

phoebe611

chill out
Old 01-02-2006, 06:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

What about reading a few snowy or cold themed books you have and have the kids create book covers to other books in your classroom. You could put the book covers on the b. board with snow and a polar bear or penguin, whatever you prefer and use "Chill out with a good book."
phoebe611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Juli

Juli

Penguin vs. polar bears
Old 01-03-2006, 05:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

We read nonfiction books about polar bears and then about peguins. We made a venn diagram comparing and contrasting. Then I had my students write which one they would like to be and why. On my board I had a polar bear on one side and a peguin on the other....

shannonNJ

Thanks
Old 01-03-2006, 06:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

thanks for your input- i love the ideas!
shannonNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Doris

Doris

K-4 teacher
Old 01-04-2006, 07:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5