Help

Second Grade

First Year Teacher - Inclusion Class - Deaf Student

>

I_Teacher

First Year Teacher - Inclusion Class - Deaf Student
Old 07-22-2011, 05:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a first year teacher and just took a position as a 2nd grade classroom teacher in an inclusion class with a deaf student. I have a few questions and would love some feedback!

1. Is there a list of absolutely necessary items I need to purchase to kick my year off?

2. Tips for teaching an inclusion class, including tips for effectively instructing a deaf student.

3. Any really great learning center ideas? My host teacher during student teaching didn't offer learning centers at all, but I'm really interested in implementing them in my classroom.

4. When do you start setting up your classroom?

Any guidance would be GREATLY appreciated!

I_Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

gradysmom

first year
Old 07-22-2011, 05:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I had the same situation a couple years ago! I assume your hearing impaired student will have an interpreter? Ours do. I treated him no differently than my other students-he was pulled out for spec ed, and though he needed it for reading I found he did not need it for math-so I kept him during our math time. My biggest struggle with him was that he wanted special privileges because of his disability! I had to be firm with him! Make sure you try to speak directly to that student and also I learned some basic sign language to help out.

Necessary items? some great music-like African or World playground... on stressful days I would turn it and we would dance around the room for a few minutes, just to let loose and laugh! Otherwise you will do fine-what others need may not be what you need!