time fillers/ chants and songs??? - ProTeacher Community

MrsCameron

MrsCameron

time fillers/ chants and songs???
Old 09-04-2011, 11:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What are some fun ideas you use in your classroom when you have 5 minutes left before recess or before school is over? I am wondering about maybe chants or songs or things like that that teach the kids the alphabet, numbers, letter sounds etc? Please help I am new to kinder from 5th...and never taught lower then 3rd before! haha excited but nervous...school starts this week!!! ahhhhhh

amsy28

The Phonics Dance
Old 09-04-2011, 12:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am a first year teacher so I love to use songs and chants during downtime to distract from negative behavior during times when the kids are transitioning.

The Phonics Dance is AWESOME!!!! I've met many who have never heard of it, but it is a song that goes with each letter of the alphabet and even has cute little/simple dance moves. The kids ADORE it and I have really noticed it helps them when trying to dictact a letter sound. I catch them singing the song to figure it out Here is a video with the song.. http://cumberland.wikispaces.com/Phonics+Dance

It seems overwhelming, but I have been gradually teaching each letter. For example, I teach them the chant to the letter when I teach that letter. So far, this is what we have learned, A,B,C,D,E,I,M,R,S. I have mini pictures to go along with each chant and I just put them on a binder ring and carry them with me everywhere and flip through them as we go so they visually see the letter with the chant. I do it anytime we have downtime. We do it a bit faster than the video posted here, so it takes less time

You can buy any of the products on their site, thephonicsdance.com too!!

Good luck!
amsy28 is offline   Reply With Quote

chickadee64

time fillers..
Old 09-04-2011, 01:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Hokey Pokey
Simon Says