Help me, Someone!!! - ProTeacher Community

Lilla

Lilla

Help me, Someone!!!
Old 09-05-2011, 05:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

When I go walking down the street I have the urge to run up to perfect strangers and beg them to help me.

I am a 1st year teacher doing alternative certification. Just about to start my 3rd week with the 1st grade. I need help and I don't know what to do. I cry every day. My management is okay. But I feel like I am working/stressing every single minute and I can't keep it up. Basically I do not know what I am supposed to teach. My team members all are pregnant/have little kids, so they don't have time to stick around after school and help me. They all dissappear at 3 ... and I'm alone in the building until 8 or 9 ... come home and work more until 11:30 ... then I get back to the school at 6:30 in the morning. I told my team leader I can't do it anymore, so she is meeting with me this week ...

will this get better? When? I actually made myself sick this weekend from crying so hard. I dreamed about being a teacher. But I'm starting to think its not worth it

binkbonk

Old 09-05-2011, 05:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It takes years to develop your skills and curriculum. You cannot be a "complete package" from day one. Pick one thing you are going to concentrate on now. Everything else you continue to do, but maybe not as perfectly as you are trying to do now. Once you have a handle on the first thing you chose, move on to another.
binkbonk is offline   Reply With Quote

AnApple4Teach

I understand
Old 09-05-2011, 08:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3