I need help! Would someone like to offer advice to a future teacher? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Future Teachers

I need help! Would someone like to offer advice to a future teacher?

>

Moe3124

I need help! Would someone like to offer advice to a future teacher?
Old 09-09-2011, 04:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, as of next semester, I will be starting my student teaching. I am studying Middle and High School Education and lately, I've been feeling a change of heart. I want to either teach Childhood Education or become a counselor. I am leaning more towards Childhood Education, but in my school, my advisor's are giving me the run around on how I can go about switching fields. I am going to finish my bachelor's next year and I would like to start my master's in Childhood Education, but I don't know if I can mix the two. I hope I am not sounding too confusing, I really need some advice from the education community.
I greatly appreciate all the advice I get,
Thanks again,
Moe

Moe3124 is offline   Reply With Quote

Kendall

Old 09-09-2011, 04:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm not positive on this and each state may be different, but I believe that in my state, you could just study for that degree and then take the certification test to get certified in that area. I have a BS in Specific Learning Disabilities (K-12) and my first teaching job was for regular ed. 1st grade. I was "out of field" so I had to take two classes per year while I was in that position. I decided to get my Masters in Pre-K/Primary education (age three to grade three). I would call your local School Board office and ask to speak to someone in Certification and they could tell you for sure what your options are. All my best to you!
Kendall is offline   Reply With Quote

Valone

Old 09-09-2011, 04:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3