Near Doubles (Doubles Plus One) - ProTeacher Community

yellowpouncy

Near Doubles (Doubles Plus One)
Old 09-10-2011, 12:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to 2nd grade and just wanted a clear understanding on addition strategies. For the past few days we've been working on Doubles and Double plus one. Most of my students are dong well with adding, especially with doubles but they are not getting the doubles plus one. How important is the doubles plus one and doubles minus one strategy? They don't understand the strategy but they are adding. I don't want to stress over something that is trivial in the scheme of things. I still working on my math block and once I move on I know that we still be working on previous taught concepts but I don't want to spend more time then needed.

Thanks,

YP :-)

yellowpouncy is offline   Reply With Quote

Sleddog

Very important
Old 09-10-2011, 02:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Doubles and doubles +1, -1 are VERY important. Once students have their doubles mastered, it is crucial for them to be able to use those doubles to get the answers to other facts. If a student knows 6+6 then she can get to 6+7 (doubles +1) or 6+5 (doubles -1).

Yes, absolutely teach them. They are one of the math fact strategies that your students need.
Sleddog is offline   Reply With Quote

yellowpouncy

Thank You Sleddog
Old 09-10-2011, 03:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

They are really struggling with this. They know doubles and they can add 3+4, 5+4, and even 10+10 but I see them using their fingers so much. They're quick with the doubles but not the idea of plus 1 or minus 1. Once I asked them what's 10 + 11, I lose them. I don't like all the ways that the curriculum is telling me to teach it. I'm going to have to look for another way for them to get it. Last year, I spent so much time on smaller concepts I just had to asked. I don't want to get behind. Maybe I can find some good workstation games.

Thanks

Lakeside

Old 09-10-2011, 04:21 PM