Help

ARCHIVE

1st Graders and SAT's!!!!

>

N2Teaching

1st Graders and SAT's!!!!
Old 03-29-2007, 01:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Has anybody ever heard of this?!? I teach first grade, and we will begin our SAT tests next week. I have been teaching for 3 years, and we have tested them every year. It's pitiful! These babies do not have the attention span for these type tests. I was curious to see if any of you test your first graders, or if we are the only one!?!?!?! Wish me luck!

N2Teaching
AL

N2Teaching is offline   Reply With Quote

Hummingbird

SAT Tests
Old 03-29-2007, 02:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have been teaching for 7 years and we administer the ITBS to our first graders every year.

I remember taking standardized tests even when I was in kindergarten.
Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote

PoohBear

Kindergarten SATs
Old 03-29-2007, 02:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I've been giving kindergartners SATs for 20 years. They actually enjoy them because they're not old enough to know that they're a TEST!! I tell them the principal wants to see how smart they've become in kindergarten. I also tell them that there are some 1st and 2nd grade questions on there just to be tricky so if they don't know an answer, don't worry, it's probably just one of those 1st or 2nd grade questions. And because writing is the hardest thing for a kindergarten student, they love the fact that all they have to do is fill in a bubble--that's cinchy (as they always say )

I only do about 20-25 minutes of testing at one time, there are lots of breaks.
PoohBear is online now   Reply With Quote

teach2all

Woo Hoo for us
Old 03-29-2007, 02:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

this is the first year since I've been teaching that we will not be testing this spring. Our new asst. superintendent does not believe that the ITBS is age appropriate and so we will not have to give it this year!
teach2all is offline   Reply With Quote

linda2671

Not any more.
Old 03-29-2007, 03:28 PM