Help

Social Studies

Biting off more than can chew?

>

Th'Stori

Biting off more than can chew?
Old 09-17-2011, 10:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new teacher in a self contained classroom (grds 2 -8 ) with students who have severe emotional/behavioral issues as well as academic ones ( I'm looking to go median 4th grd soc studies level). I want to approach social studies from a "group memeber" stand point, with a focus on social skills. Meaning, we all are members of different groups including the one called "the world". I'm trying to find cirruculum that will facilitate this in an orderly manner, ie, a beginning point, at least. These first 2 weeks, I have made a connection of individual to group to community, I'm pretty much making it up. I have not found any cirrucula that addresses what I want to do and where I want to go with it. Am I way off base in this approach? Am I biting off more than can be chewed? Comments, ideas, suggestions welcomed. Thanks

Th'Stori is offline   Reply With Quote

ajmm115

admirable
Old 09-17-2011, 04:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think you have an admirable goal, and as long as you keep it simple enough for them, and progress slowly, it sounds doable to me. I've never taught sped, but have had a few mainstreamed in my classes, including into my honors classes.

Thing is - they do best with a very orderly, predictable schedule. And then - the irony is that they get flustered easily with the schedule. Still, it seems a daily/weekly schedule for this pseudo-government would be best.

I think I'd start with forming the groups (which you probably have already done) and letting each group create a "city" name that they represent. It should be something totally invented. Then you name the country - the whole classroom - maybe taking your name and the school's name and making some kind of short combination of the two. Ms. Cooper and Westside Elementary = West Cooper.