Help

Math & Science

Edible Cell project ideas?

>

ScienceSavvy

Edible Cell project ideas?
Old 09-26-2011, 05:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am in my second year of teaching sixth grade and I want my class to make a replica of a cell entirely out of food, and it has to be able to go 3 days without refrigeration. They also have to include the proper cell parts and label them correctly. They can do either a plant or animal cell. They asked me for ideas and all I can think of is making the cell out of jello, a cookie, and cake. Do you have any ideas for what the cell can be made out of and whatbsome of the parts can be made out of? Thank you.

ScienceSavvy is offline   Reply With Quote

Mcquita

Cell Model
Old 10-02-2011, 04:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My colleague does cell models with 7th graders. Question, do they need to be edible? I have seen beautiful cell models made from wood, beads, clay, etc. Perhaps have them make a model and label all the components properly; the edible portion can be an idea but not a requirement. Just a thought...
Mcquita is offline   Reply With Quote

MSScienceGal

Sorry...
Old 10-07-2011, 07:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

we stopped doing food for our 7th grade cell projects. Mostly because this year we are a peanut free school and do not allow homemade treats for parties, etc.

My students came up with some really great materials for their cells. One used clear silicone and another used hair gel for the cytoplasm. There was a lot of creativity. I did allow them to use candy...skittles, fruit roll-ups, airheads, and such.
MSScienceGal is offline   Reply With Quote

browardteach

might be too late???
Old 10-08-2011, 01:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I dont' have the ability to upload documents (not enough posts...)so I'm copying and pasting my center directions. I did this with 4th graders. I also have on for plants that I posted underneath the animal cell as well as the student lab sheet. Hope you find this useful!
Cory

Cello-bration