Harcourt Trophies - ProTeacher Community

momof2cuties

Harcourt Trophies
Old 04-06-2007, 04:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Our county is adopting this program for next year. Does anyone else use this program? We are hearing rumors that they may completely change the way we are teaching reading (again ). We currently teach reading through guided reading groups and shared reading. Will this program work with this model? I wanted to try implementing reading workshop in my class but I don't know if this will be possible with the new adopted series. I hardly use the basal at all now, except during shared reading. Someone mentioned today that we may be going with a model that teaches reading through whole group instruction Does anyone even use this method anymore? Thanks for any input!

momof2cuties is offline   Reply With Quote

grdone

grdone

Old 04-06-2007, 10:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

We have used this series in our district for the past few years. I'm a first grade teacher. Along with the basals, our district bought the Harcourt leveled readers, too. There are three levels to use in guided reading groups. I have been happy with the series. The kids like it, too. As with any basal, you can't do all of it. The school day would need to be twice as long for us to get it all in. You do what you can.
me too

me too

You should be aware
Old 04-07-2007, 07:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

that Harcourt does all their own, in-house research (so do most programs). Then, they turn around and say they're "research-based" but they're only "research-based" if we completely change the meaning of the phrase. Harcourt is not the only company to do this. McGraw-Hill does the same thing with ALL their programs, and so does SRA.